Denbigh Harriers Weekly Report 21-01-17

There was a good Harrier turnout and some impressive times in almost perfect conditions with some ice for the Buff Winter Trail Half Marathon. The race was 13:22 miles and included 1780 ft of climbing on the tracks of Coed y Brenin. Particular mention should go to Tony Wood as the first Harrier home, Emma Collins who came first in the FV50 category and Fred Jones who came third in the MV60 category.

Tony Wood 58th, 1:51:29

Emma Collins 115th, 2:00:33 1st V50

Tony Benton 135th, 2:03

Fred Jones 182th, 2:10:11 3rd V60.

Ceri Belshaw 190, 22:10:05

Dan Schraibman 206, 2:12:37

Katy Baugh 282th, 2:21:39

David Say 324th, 22:26:58

Jon Whitehead 415th, 2:44:22

Although there was no wind in Denbigh itself by the time the 15 Denbigh Harriers got to the start of the Twin Piers 10k on the Llandudno Prom there was a stiff and icy easterly wind in the faces of the runners that lasted for most of the race. For many some this meant times a minute or two slower than last year but for others it made little difference as they achieved good personal bests. There were age category podium positions for Ron Birch – 2nd M75, Bob Neale – 3rd M65 and David Baugh 2nd M55


12 Shaun Hughes 00:38:39 Senior 5th

28 David Baugh 00:41:37 Vet 55 2nd

174 Robert Gotts 00:51:10 Senior 33rd

178 Wayne Cooper 00:51:15 Vet 50 12th

181 Meilyr Emrys 00:51:42 Vet 35 23rd

182 Robert Neale 00:51:54 Vet 65 3rd

216 Robert John Parry 00:54:19 Vet 45 27th

238 Menai Baugh 00:55:37 Vet 55 5th

247 Caroline Ann Parry 00:56:13 Vet 45 12th

264 Helen Davies 00:57:44 Vet 45 14th

303 Lisa Dafydd 01:00:43 Senior 34th

305 Meinir Hughes 01:00:49 Vet 45 17th

339 Martin Jones 01:03:08 Vet 40 30th

367 Dawn Marshall 01:06:03 Vet 40 27th

385 Ron Birch 01:08:09 Vet 75 2nd

Martin Courtfriend  ran a quick half marathon at Inskip, Preston in 1:31:40.


Saturday evening saw the annual Harriers dinner which included prize giving for different club events.Trophies for the Noel Morris Memorial Handicap were presented to the winner RobParry, second placed Andy Morris and third placed Tony Benton. The fastest time trophies went to Shaun Hughes and Rhian Pierce. In the Harrier’s Challenge which tracked performance over 62 races during 2016 the female winners were: 1st Menai Baugh, 2nd Victoria Whitehead and 3rd Katy Baugh.  For the men the placings were: 1st David Baugh, 2nd Tony Benton and 3rd Chris,Baldwinwith a special award to Martin Jones for his performance before moving away from the area. The final prize was the Alison Baugh Memorial Trophy for Club Person of the Year which went to Menai Baugh.

This entry was posted in 10k, Cross-country, Social Events, Trail Running. Bookmark the permalink.